Wishes

I had my first child when I was just 18.  A baby having a baby. I loved that little girl instantly and tried to be as good a mom as an 18-year-old could be.  But it was tough.  Add 2 more children into the mix and it became even more difficult.  I don’t ever remember not having children.   As diapers changed to potty training, preschool changed to elementary school and scraped knees turned to broken hearts, I remember thinking how exhausted I was.  How I could not wait for a living room without toys scattered everywhere, or not having to deal with homework each night, or not having to struggle to afford school clothes.  I wished for more hours in the day.  I wished for more money.  I wished for more “me” time.  I wished. I wished. I wished.  Now as my last child prepares to move out, I have different wishes.  I wish I would have taken the time to snuggle more before bedtimes, I wish I would have not chosen a clean floor over playdough, I wish I would have spent more time being silly in the puddles instead of worrying about tracking up my kitchen floor.  I wish I hadn’t been so easily irritated when they asked me to read yet ANOTHER book.  I wish I had savored more of the tiny moments that make up life. I wish I could turn back the clock.  I wish my heart wasn’t breaking into a zillion little pieces because my youngest is leaving.  I wish.

broken-heart.jpg.653x0_q80_crop-smart

6 thoughts on “Wishes

  1. Beautiful…I can relate to alot of those things. I have to remind myself daily that my kids are growing up fast. Thank you for speaking to my heart ❤ praying that this new chapter of you life will get easier

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

