Friends

“I never had any friends later on like the ones I had when I was twelve. Jesus, does anyone?”

This quote from the movie Stand By Me has been floating around my brain for the last week or so.  I was recently in Savannah GA on a girls’ getaway with my good friend.   We wandered through the city, spent some time at Tybee Island, toured Bonaventure Cemetery (unreal) and visited the Civil Rights’ Museum (heartbreaking).  We laughed often and ate much.  We walked and walked.   And talked and talked.  And ate more.  We browsed an overstuffed bookstore, walked the riverfront and never trusted our GPS. We visited the 1st African American church in Savannah and wished we could stay for service.  We were daring enough to eat South African food, well maybe one of us was.  Searched gas stations and grocery stores for unsweetened iced tea.  CVS saved my life! Craved chips and salsa and margaritas and managed to get directions to the only Mexican restaurant in Savannah that was closed down.  So we ate salt and vinegar chips and queso dip and tortillas.  And that was okay.

And we met Joseph. “I just knew you knew the Lord.”  

We shared struggles and silence and trials and trust.

“I never had any friends later on like the ones I had when I was twelve. Jesus, does anyone?”

Yes I do and her name is Missy.

friend