Enough

It’s the worst shooting in U.S history.  My mind just can’t comprehend the violence.  I can’t even begin to imagine the terror when the gunshots were fired.  I read about the victims.  I see the bodies carried out covered in white sheets.  I think about the families that are waiting expectantly for their loved ones to be identified, the families that have already gotten confirmation, received news that is every parent’s nightmare.   As I read the survivors accounts of the destruction and devastation my heart breaks.  Just so much violence. How do you even process this?

And then it begins.  The hate speak.   All Muslims are evil…well if they weren’t at a gay club… it’s the guns…no it’s the people…close the borders, etc.  The social media chatter is endless.  I have never been directly impacted by this type of violence and I don’t pretend to have all the answers.  But does more hatred help? Does instigating more violence help with healing?  And yes, discussion (reasonable) is necessary, but does it need to happen right now?  Is this the right time? When the bodies haven’t even been identified? When the families haven’t even had a chance to process their grief? People are so quick to jump on their platforms.  I’m so weary of agendas.

I would imagine there will be plenty that disagree with this blog.  And that’s okay.  But I’ve had enough and just needed to voice that.  Enough of the hatred, the bigotry, the judgment, the fear, enough of the heartache, the violence, the complacency, enough of the lack of love.  The true, genuine, putting others above ourselves, kind of love.

“Darkness cannot drive out darkness: only light can do that. Hate cannot drive out hate: only love can do that.”   MLK Jr.

Let us love above all.

Praying for Orlando.