Cultivate Thankfulness

This blog has been stirring around in me for a while now.  I think it’s time to put it on paper.  (Or in cyber-space.  Do they even use that term anymore?)  OK, I’m about to get real.  Yikes.

Covet.  This isn’t a word that’s used often.   The simple definition of Covet is: to want (something that you do not have) very much.  But there is so much more to this word than this one simple sentence.  I know because I have struggled with this in my life.  And if I’m being honest, quite often and quite recently.  Believe me, it’s not something I’m proud of. Disgusted with myself is more like it.  There is not one part of me that isn’t hesitant about putting this out there for the world to read.  But there is another part of me that is screaming, you are not alone in this.  This will encourage someone.

Why do we covet?  Why do I covet?  Social Media definitely plays a role.   Everywhere you look someone is vacationing in Iceland or buying houses on the Riviera or their children have been accepted to Harvard and they’ve just started Kindergarten.   People are living such extraordinary lives and mine is so ordinary.  Right?  But as much as I wish I could blame it all on social media, I’ve realized that for me, it can be a heart issue.

Gratitude.  Thankfulness.  These are not things that come naturally to me.  I have learned that I need to be intentional about cultivating these attributes in my life.  And when I grow lazy at this, I can become someone that covets.  And I don’t like that woman very much.

So I am reminding myself to be thankful.   Thankful for my family vacation in Florida this year.  Even if I had to take it in mid-June because it’s cheaper (who cares about 98% humidity?) singing karaoke songs with my daughter was worth the sweat.   Thankful for my little ranch house that is super easy to clean and for my wonderful husband who does much of it! Thankful that, even though there are cracks (major) in my driveway, I have a car to park there.  Thankful that my kids and grandkids are healthy.   They may not be doctors or lawyers or CPA’s. They may frustrate me and break my heart at times (why do they have to be so hard-headed?) but they are here and in my life and I’m oh so very grateful for that.

Writing this is my way of recommitting to being intentional about having a heart filled with gratitude. It’s not easy at times, but I don’t care for the person I can quickly become when I don’t.   There is ALWAYS something to be thankful for.  Take a moment and look around.  (Just not on social media.)

inspirational-picture-quotes-what-are-you-grateful-for-today-1377619129g8k4n