Too Much Stuff

via Daily Prompt: Minimal

Minimal – once a word that seemed to define my life negatively is now something I find myself striving for.

Growing up in a household with a single mother, we had “minimal” resources.  Clothing, food, Christmas, birthdays were all “minimal”.  Extremely minimal.

Because of this, as an adult, it became more about abundance.  Christmas and birthdays were over the top for my kids.  Life became about stuff stuff and more stuff.  “Minimal” was not even in my vocabulary.

Now as I enter mid-life, “minimal” has a strong appeal to me.   As I reflect back on all of the money that was spent on stuff, I long for a do-over.  Stuff that was donated, discarded or just forgotten.  Clothing that I just had to have that I found buried in my closest with the store tags still on.  Shoes that were only worn twice.  Knickknacks that collected dust and were eventually boxed up.  Shot glass and decorative plate collections that my children will be throwing away after I’m gone.  So much stuff.  So much waste.

Recently I’ve been weeding through my stuff, trying to simplify my life.  It’s not easy.  There is much I want to keep for various reasons.  It’s definitely an ongoing process.  But as I release things, I’ve noticed that I seem to be able to breathe a little easier.  As I clear shelves and counters, drawers and closets, stress seems to lift, stress that I wasn’t even aware I was dealing with.   These open spaces that are being created are giving me a peace I didn’t realize I was craving.  I will enjoy resting in this peace for a bit before I tackle the offsite storage unit.   5d460ed78992a28f0ea9d7a6b7841f91

 “There are two ways to be rich: One is by acquiring much, and the other is by desiring little.” ~    Jackie French Koller

 “That which you hold holds you.” ~ Tom Robbins

Leave a Reply

