Thanksgiving

As I sit here reflecting before the chaos of the day begins, I truly am blown away by the goodness of my life. In the day to day grind, I can often lose sight of what I have been given and gratitude begins to leak. I know many who are more grateful when they have so much less. That is humbling. So on this Thanksgiving Day, when thoughts naturally turn to thankfulness, and in hopes it will make it “stick” throughout the other 364 days of the year, I wanted to write down some things I am grateful for in my life.

My God. His Grace and Forgiveness. Without that, my life would be so much different. Of that one thing I am certain.

My health. Several people in my life are currently dealing with tragic news which shifts perspective. Good health is never a given. Especially as you get older.

My husband. I simply don’t deserve him. He is one of the kindest, gentlest, most self-sacrificing persons I know. One of God’s best gifts in my life. Period.

My children. I have not been the best mom, they have not had the best life, but they are forgiving, and grace filled. Each one is so different. Each one has overcome much. Each one blesses my life more than I can explain. I am proud of them. I love them beyond words.

My family. Crazy, dysfunctional, hilarious, fun, loving, supportive, nuts. These are just a few words that describe them. They say you can’t choose your relatives. But I wouldn’t trade mine for anyone else. I love them.

My church/church family. So grateful to be a part of a Jesus loving, serving church community. Thankful for their influence in my life.

My friends. Family isn’t always blood. Friends are the family we choose. I am thankful they chose me.

I could write so much more but this sums it up pretty well.

I am thankful for the life that I’ve been given.  I want to stay awake for all of it.

rls

2 thoughts on “Thanksgiving

Leave a comment